Important Change in SmartFind/SEMS

As per our recent tentative agreement, a change has occurred in how you declare your availability in SmartFind/SEMS.  Previously, you had 12 municipalities in Niagara for which you could specify your availability.  Now, that list of twelve has been reduced to the four "Areas" that the DSBN splits itself into administratively.  What this effectively means is that in order to help prevent unfilled jobs, there's an expectation that everyone be available to at least a moderate geographic area rather than for instance only one municipality.

These four areas are:
Area 1: Fort Erie, Niagara Falls
Area 2: Pelham, Port Colborne, Thorold, Wainfleet, Welland
Area 3: Beamsville, Grimsby, Lincoln, West Lincoln, St. Catharines
Area 4: Niagara-on-the-Lake, St. Catharines

Note: You may also see "1000 - Elementary" instead of the four separate areas.  This is equivalent to having yourself available for all areas.

When you log into SEMS, in the menu bar you'll see Schedule, and in that is Locations.  You can check your current availability settings in there.

If your availability is incorrect or needs adjusting, you can email or call to make changes.  Lisa's extension is 54264, and the SEMS Help Desk extension is 54230.  For a complete list of schools by municipality, click here.